Champlain's Division of Communication and Creative Media To Host Honors Night with FirstĀ­ Ever Dean's Scholarship and Excel Awards

CCM at Champlain College

Burlington, Vt. - Champlain College will celebrate the success of its stellar students in the Division of Communication and Creative Media (CCM) by awarding for the first time nine $1,000 CCM Dean's Scholarships for eligible returning undergraduate students and 10 CCM Excel Awards for graduating seniors.

The recognitions will take place during the Honors Night ceremony on Thursday, April 14 at Champlain College. The celestial­ themed event also will include a stargazing reception where the "star" honorees and their guests will be invited to view various constellations with high­ performance telescopes provided by the Vermont Astronomical Society.

In addition, winners of the annual Vermont Association of Broadcasters Scholarship will be recognized at the event, as well as recipients of the newly established Stowe Story Lab Fellowships and the CCM Dean's Choice Award for the college's first 2016 Juried Student Exhibition.

"We are tremendously proud of our CCM students' accomplishments. Honors Night is an opportunity to publicly recognize and celebrate their talent and hard work, and their dedication to serving Champlain's mission of being ‘the finest small, globally and professional focused college in the United States.' We introduced several new awards this year, including academic scholarships, to further support the success of our students," says CCM Dean Paula Willoquet Maricondi.

CCM Dean's Scholarship winners:

Broadcast Media Production - Kathryn Bullock, junior; Communication - Chelsea Rublee, junior; Creative Media - Jeremy MacKenzie, junior; Filmmaking - Charles Kahn, sophomore; Game Art & Animation - Nicole Pito, junior; Game Design - Natalie Orlando, sophomore; Graphic Design & Digital Media - Megan Charles, sophomore; Professional Writing - Kiera Hufford, sophomore; and Public Relations - Jadelynn Ye, sophomore.

CCM Excel Award senior winners:

Broadcast & Streaming Media - Alex Schlater, Communication - Shawn Tkach, Creative Media - Sabrina Parker, Filmmaking - Sean Goodwin, Game Art & Animation - Nicholas Comeau, Game Design - Ryan Huggins, Graphic Design & Digital Media - Cody Mannigan, Professional Writing Award - Nina Knorr, Public Relations - Madeline McLean, and MFA in Emergent Media - Jonathan Mikulak.

Dean's CCM Choice Award ­ Juried Student Exhibition winner:

  • Max Erickson, senior, ­ Filmmaking

Stowe Story Labs Fellowship winners:

  • Jacqueline Carroll, senior - Filmmaking
  • Sean Goodwin, senior - Filmmaking

Vermont Association of Broadcasters Scholarship winners:

  • Tyler Bradley, junior ­ Broadcast & Streaming Media
  • Caroline Noll, sophomore ­ Broadcast Media Production
  • Mae Sullivan, junior ­ Broadcast & Streaming Media

Learn more about the Center for Communication and Creative Media

Founded in 1878, Champlain College is a small, not-for-profit, private college in Burlington, Vermont, with additional campuses in Montreal, Canada, and Dublin, Ireland. Champlain offers a traditional undergraduate experience from its beautiful campus overlooking Lake Champlain and over 90 residential undergraduate and online undergraduate and graduate degree programs and certificates. Champlain's distinctive career-driven approach to higher education embodies the notion that true learning occurs when information and experience come together to create knowledge. Champlain College is included in the Princeton Review's The Best 384 Colleges: 2019 Edition. For the fourth year in a row, Champlain was named a "Most Innovative School" in the North by U.S. News & World Report's 2019 "America's Best Colleges,” and a “Best Value School” and is ranked in the top 100 “Regional Universities of the North” and in the top 25 for “Best Undergraduate Teaching.” Champlain is also featured in the Fiske Guide to Colleges for 2019 as one of the "best and most interesting schools" in the United States, Canada and Great Britain and is a 2019 College of Distinction. For more information, visit