Senior Dinner Highlights and Awards

Champlain College Trustee and Senior Dinner 2016

Click on the image above to view this as a slide show and see all the photos.

As we celebrate the Champlain College Class of 2016, we would like to honor a few of the many who have gone above and beyond to make Champlain an engaged experience for their peers.
Champlain Division Senior Speakers

We asked the Deans and Faculty to nominate a student who represents their division in unique and special ways. They are: Chloe Elliot, Division of Communication & Creative Media; Camille Koosman, Division of Education & Human Studies; Dan Puckowski, Division of Information Technology & Science; Monica Birchmore, Robert P. Stiller School of Business; and Sophia Westover, Division of Champlain College Online.

Student Government Association

It is my extreme pleasure to introduce you to the Graduating Seniors who have served the Student Government Association with distinction over the past few years:
Kevin Ameden, Lucas Bienvenue, Katherine Hansen, Meredith Hansen, Rachel Hatem, Nina Knorr, Kirby McThompson, Rachel McQueeney, Josh Miller, Peter Orzell, Walter Weaver and Benjamin Wyatt.

The Pitch of Pitches Competition
The annual Elevator Pitch competition selected the top student for each of the three categories: non-profit organization; a great entrepreneurial idea; and pursuit of an internship or full-time employment. Tonight our three finalists will compete for the ultimate winner - the Pitch of Pitches: Shaniah Bartlett, Bernie Smigel and winner Aaron Millet.

2016 Senior Student Awards 

Chandler S. Page Memorial Award
The Chandler S. Page Memorial Award is given by the Class of 1963 to the student or students who have exhibited the highest level of college spirit during their career at Champlain College. Chandler S. Page was a Business Management major at Champlain, and the award is given in his honor. Tonight we have three students who have exhibited the best of Champlain.
Our first recipient was a Resident Assistant for three years, studied abroad and is active throughout the campus including ODI, the Care Program and Imagine College. Please join me in congratulating: Sekou Keita.

Our second recipient of the Page Memorial Award was involved with CHAMP all four years, was responsible for the success of several large scale programs including Spirit Week and Mr. Champlain, and has served SGA in numerous ways. Congratulations to: Rachel Hatem

Our final Page Memorial Award winner serves as a Resident Assistant, provided leadership for Student Government and has entertained many on the piano in the dining hall. Please join me in congratulating: Lucas Bienevenue.

Mary Kay Kennedy Service Award

Our next award, the Mary Kay Kennedy Service Award, is given to the student or students who have made the greatest contributions to furthering the interests of Champlain College. During her 44 years of service, Mary Kay Kennedy '67, worked passionately to meet the needs of Champlain students in a variety of roles including Vice President for Student Life and Enrollment Management. This year the award goes to three students:

Our first award winner is a fierce advocate for social and cultural consciousness. This award winner has provided leadership for INCLUDE, LEAD and facilitates PAUSE, which raises awareness through the medium of art. Please join me in congratulating:Alex Schlater

Our next award winner is has been active since her arrival at Champlain. She has worked as a LEAD Peer Advisor, a tutor and a member of the Student Wellness Action Team. In her spare time she is leading your Class Gift Committee. Congratulations: Kelly Black

Our final Mary Kay Kennedy award winner is an advocate for social issues and a leader at the Center for Service and Civic Engagement, and has provided amazing insight and leadership for the Women's Empowerment Symposium. Please join me in congratulating: Nina Knorr.

H. Dean Pearl Memorial Award
Our next award, the H. Dean Pearl Memorial Award is given by the Student Government Association to the student who has demonstrated support for student activities. H. Dean Pearl served as Director of Admissions for several years.
This year's recipient is a very engaged, caring and enthusiastic student leader. This recipient has served as a Resident Assistant and has been active with the Center for Service and Civic Engagement and as a member of the National Honor Society of Leadership and Success. In addition, this recipient has served as a Diversity Ambassador and is currently working on bringing a local self-defense organization to campus. This year that H. Dean Pearl award goes to: Jennifer Clark 

Presidential Award
The Presidential Award is given by the President of the College to the student who has exhibited Outstanding Campus Leadership. In my short time here, I have personally observed her impact and her leadership. While I could go on and on about her involvements, I will summarize by saying, she is an amazing, compassionate, creative, well-organized, powerful and inspirational student leader. The 2016 Presidential Award goes to Kirby McThompson.

Founded in 1878, Champlain College is a small, not-for-profit, private college in Burlington, Vermont, with additional campuses in Montreal, Canada, and Dublin, Ireland. Champlain offers a traditional undergraduate experience from its beautiful campus overlooking Lake Champlain and over 90 residential undergraduate and online undergraduate and graduate degree programs and certificates. Champlain's distinctive career-driven approach to higher education embodies the notion that true learning occurs when information and experience come together to create knowledge. Champlain College is included in the Princeton Review's The Best 384 Colleges: 2019 Edition. For the fourth year in a row, Champlain was named a "Most Innovative School" in the North by U.S. News & World Report's 2019 "America's Best Colleges,” and a “Best Value School” and is ranked in the top 100 “Regional Universities of the North” and in the top 25 for “Best Undergraduate Teaching.” Champlain is also featured in the Fiske Guide to Colleges for 2019 as one of the "best and most interesting schools" in the United States, Canada and Great Britain and is a 2019 College of Distinction. For more information, visit