Faculty Emeriti

The following Champlain College faculty members were granted Faculty Emeriti status:


Joanne FarrellProfessorCore Division
Champ SoncrantProfessorBusiness


Robin AbramsonProfessorDivision of Information Technology & Sciences
Lynne BallardProfessorAssociate Provost, Academic Affairs
Thane ButtProfessorRobert P. Stiller School of Business
Gilbert (Geebo) Church              Artist-in-ResidenceDivision of Communication & Creative Media
Susyn DeesAssociate Professor              Division of Information Technology & Sciences
Ann DeMarleProfessorDivision of Communication & Creative Media
James FryProfessorRobert P. Stiller School of Business
Janice Gohm WebsterProfessorCore Division
Robert GreenAssociate ProfessorChamplain College Online
David LustgartenAssociate ProfessorDivision of Communication & Creative Media
James McKeeProfessorRobert P. Stiller School of Business
Michelle MillerProfessorSenior Associate Provost, Academic Affairs
David MonaAssociate ProfessorRobert P. Stiller School of Business
John RogateAssociate ProfessorDivision of Information Technology & Sciences
Cameron WebsterProfessorDivision of Education & Human Studies


Ann McCluskey

Ann McCluskey, Champlain College Faculty EmeritiAnn McCluskey began her career at the College in 1969 and retired in 2000 with the rank of Professor. She was a member of the faculty, teaching English. While at the College. Ann served as English Department Chairman and Arts and Sciences Division Chairman, and served two terms as Faculty Senate President, as well as serving on other faculty committees. She was the editor of Institutional Self-Studies prepared by the College for NEASC in 1980, 1990 and 1992, and as a NEASC team member evaluating other institutions for accreditation. She also served as the chairman of the NEASC Appeals Board. She was a member of the College's Trustees' Committee on Education and Academic Planning, and was awarded a sabbatical to study and make recommendations for the planning of a new College library. In 1991 she was the recipient of the Edward Phelps Lyman Professorship Award. She was a member of the National Council of Teachers of English, New England Association of  Teachers of English, and  Vermont Women Administrators in Higher Education. Her professional activities included: workshop critic for the Vermont Poetry Society, teaching seminars for the Vermont Court Reporters Association, and supervision of a UVM Internship Program. Ann's civic and philanthropic activities included serving on the education committee at the Immaculate Conception Cathedral, and volunteer work for the Vermont Association for the Blind, the Chittenden County Court Diversion Program, and the Shelburne Museum. She received a B.S. in Education, 1962, and an M.A. in English, 1967, from Seton Hall University; an M.A. in English from the Bread Loaf School of English, Middlebury College, in 1973, and an M.Litt. in English from the Bread Loaf School of English, Lincoln College, Oxford University, 1982.


Edith Templin

Edith TemplinEadie Templin began her career at the College in 1976 and retired in 2007.  She was a member of the faculty teaching accounting and mathematics.  While at the College, Eadie served as Chair of the Accounting and Computer Systems Division, Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs, and Interim Dean of Information Technology & Sciences Division.  She also was a member of various college committees, including Vice President and Treasurer of the Faculty Senate, Chair of Curriculum Committee, member of numerous accreditation committees for NEASC and chair of one, member and later chair of Champlain Self-Study Committees for NEASC and co-chair of the search committee for the Dean of Business Administration Division.  Eadie was the recipient of the Edward Phelps Lyman Professorship Award, 1987-1990.  She has served as a Board Member of Cathedral Square Corporation and Outright Vermont and is an active member of the Cathedral Church of St. Paul and the Episcopal Diocese of Vermont.  Eadie received a B.A., cum laude, Smith College, 1964 and an M.B.A., University of Vermont, 1976.

Deceased:  August 3, 2015

Walter Luchini

Walter LuchiniWalt Luchini began his career at the College in 1968 and retired in 2008.  He was a member of the faculty teaching in the accounting program.  He served as Director of the Continuing Education Division, Chair of the Business Administration Division, Director of the Accounting and Math Department, as well as President, V.P. and Treasurer of the Faculty Senate.  He was the Chair of numerous Senate and College committees - primarily Faculty Welfare and Curriculum committees.  Walt served on an ad hoc committee of the Vermont Board of CPAs to implement educational requirements to become a CPA, 1998.  At the invitation of the Vermont Tax Commissioner, he served on a committee to implement a new Vermont corporate tax system, 2005.  Walt received the Phi Theta Sigma Award "For Dedicated Services as a Teacher", 1970, Presidential Award for Distinguished Service to Champlain College, 1972, Centennial Award for "Outstanding Alumnus"  Champlain College, 1978, C. Bader Brouilette Alumni Award, 1994 and was a recipient of the Edward Phelps Lyman Professorship Award, 1994-1997.  He served as a Board Member, Treasurer, Chairman of the Finance Committee, Howard Mental Health Services (now the Howard Center).   His professional memberships included the Vermont Society of Certified Public Accountants, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Institute of Management Accountants, and the American Accounting Association.   Walt received an A.S. Champlain College, graduated 1st in class and chosen "Outstanding Senior", B.S., Summa Cum Laude, Plymouth State College of the University of New Hampshire, M.Ed., Saint Michael's College and an M.B.A., University of Vermont.