champlain college accreditation

Champlain College Accreditation

Champlain is Regionally Accredited by NECHE

Champlain College is regionally accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

Regional accreditation of an institution of higher education by the NECHE indicates that it meets or exceeds criteria for the assessment of institutional quality periodically applied through a peer review process. An accredited college or university has available the necessary resources to achieve its stated purposes through appropriate educational programs, is substantially doing so, and gives reasonable evidence that it will continue to do so in the foreseeable future. Institutional integrity is also addressed through accreditation.

Accreditation by the NECHE is not partial but applies to the institution as a whole. As such it is not a guarantee of every course or program offered, or the competence of individual graduates. Rather, it provides reasonable assurance about the quality of opportunities available to students who attend the institution.

Inquiries regarding the accreditation status by the NECHE should be directed to the administrative staff of the institution. Individuals may also contact:

NECHE Accreditation Logo

New England Commission of Higher Education
3 Burlington Woods Road, Suite 100
Burlington, MA 01803-4514

Accreditation Frequently Asked Questions:

Expand All
Collapse All

Accreditation is a voluntary process that colleges and universities undergo to ensure they meet specific higher education and organizational requirements. Accrediting agencies examine each institution's academic programs, financial condition, governance/administration, admissions and student services personnel, resources, student academic achievement, among other areas.

Link to this FAQ

Regional accreditation is the most rigorous and therefore the most highly regarded form of accreditation an educational institution can achieve, and is strictly monitored and reviewed by a board of higher education professionals. There are six regional accrediting bodies in the United States:

  • New England Commission of Higher Education. The accrediting agency of Champlain College, this agency accredits the institutions in all six New England States, and includes on its roster Harvard University, University of Connecticut, University of Massachusetts, and Dartmouth College to name only a few.
  • Middle States Association. This agency accredits the states typically identified as the mid-Atlantic states (Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, The District of Columbia) as well as Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands.
  • North Central Association. States governed by this accrediting agency include Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming.
  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. Accredits institutions in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Institutions in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia are accredited by SACS.
  • Western Association of Schools and Colleges. This organization accredits institutions in California and Hawaii as well as the territories of Guam, American Samoa, Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of Palau, and the Northern Marianas Islands

While the US Government does not usually allow institutions to pursue more than one regional accreditation, all six of these agencies recognize the others as equals.

Link to this FAQ

Regional accreditation assures prospective students that the courses and programs offered by a college or university are of high quality and value. It also allows students access to federal student aid, and ensures the largest possible number of colleges or universities that will accept your transfer credits.

Link to this FAQ

Yes. There are three types of accreditation: national, regional and programmatic. Programmatic accreditation is exactly as it sounds. It is program-specific and is appropriate for professional programs that will lead to a certification or licensure. Credits earned at institutions with only programmatic and/or national accreditations are generally not accepted by institutions that have Regional Accreditation, so investigate an institution's accreditation thoroughly if you think you may ever want to transfer credits you've earned to another school in the future.

Link to this FAQ

No, they are two very different things. In order to operate an institution of higher learning must be licensed by the state in which it is located. However, institutions do not have to be regionally accredited to operate. Regional accreditation is a voluntary process that is generally viewed as a show of accountability to the public an institution serves. Undergoing the regional accreditation process shows an institution is willing to abide by certain strict standards of operation. It also indicates an institution has nothing to hide as the accreditation process entails an institution opening itself up for extensive examination by an outside entity familiar with higher education.

Link to this FAQ

You should always do your homework to ensure that you will receive an education that is worth more than what you pay for it.  For more information about accreditations in general, and Champlain College's in particular, please visit the following sites:

Link to this FAQ