Standout Students Honored at ITS Honors Night

The Division of Information Technology and Sciences held its Capstone Conference on April 29, featuring Keynote Speaker Joh Drake, managing director for Accenture, (shown at left) and an afternoon of dozens of posters, presentations, and demonstrations of senior students' capstone project.

The day was capped off with the 2017 Honors Celebration in the Champlain Room, hosted by ITS Dean Scott Stevens. Students in multiple majors across the ITS Division were recognized at the event by their professors. Dustin Yost (at left with Prof. Wei Kian Chen) received the 2017 George Bradford Excellence Award for demonstrated excellence in citizenship and academics. 

(photo: Radiography professors and honored students) 

The recipients are as follows:

  • Computer Information Technology Academic Achievement- Margaret Oros
  • Computer Information Technology Highest GPA- Travis Spinelli
  • Computer Information Technology Rising Star- Max Mackson
  • Computer Networking & Cybersecurity Outstanding Senior- Kelsey Ward
  • Computer Networking & Cybersecurity Outstanding Junior- Tyler Peyton
  • Computer Networking & Cybersecurity Outstanding Sophomore- Brandon Brozek
  • Computer Networking & Cybersecurity Outstanding First Year- Mackenzie Marsocci
  • Computer Science & Innovation Rising Star Award- Walter Proulx
  • Computer Science & Innovation Academic Achievement- David Jordan
  • Computer Science & Innovation Faculty Choice- Matthew Harrison
  • Game Programming Excellence in Programming- John Parsaie
  • Game Programming Excellence in Programming- Tyler Wood
  • Game Programming Excellence in Programming- Eric Winebrenner
  • 2017 George Bradford Excellence Award- Dustin Yost
  • Math Minor Excellence in Mathematics- Gabrielle Kenney
  • Math Minor Excellence in Mathematics- Matt May
  • Math Minor Excellence in Mathematics- Ryan Sobczak
  • Outstanding Computer & Digital Forensics Senior- Justin Waite
  • Outstanding Computer & Digital Forensics Senior- Mary Braden Murphy
  • Outstanding Computer & Digital Forensics Rising Star- John Nicastro
  • Radiography, JRCERT- Moriah Lafoe
  • Radiography, Lambda Nu- Moriah Lafoe
  • Radiography, Lambda Nu- Isabel Burke
  • Radiography, Lambda Nu- Alyssa Walbridge
  • Senator Patrick Leahy Center for Digital Investigation Leadership Award- Kelsey Ward
  • Senator Patrick Leahy Center for Digital Investigation Service Award- Matt Fortier

John Drake of Accenture

(Photo: John Drake of Accenture)

The ITS Division offers majors in Computer and Digital Forensics, Computer Information Technology, Computer Networking & Cybersecurity, Computer Science and Innovation, Data Analytics, and Game Programming. Learn more about the programs and the division here.

See more photos from the Honors Night

Founded in 1878, Champlain College is a small, not-for-profit, private college in Burlington, Vermont, with additional campuses in Montreal, Canada, and Dublin, Ireland. Champlain offers a traditional undergraduate experience from its beautiful campus overlooking Lake Champlain and over 90 residential undergraduate and online undergraduate and graduate degree programs and certificates. Champlain's distinctive career-driven approach to higher education embodies the notion that true learning occurs when information and experience come together to create knowledge. Champlain College is included in the Princeton Review's The Best 384 Colleges: 2019 Edition. For the fourth year in a row, Champlain was named a "Most Innovative School" in the North by U.S. News & World Report's 2019 "America's Best Colleges,” and a “Best Value School” and is ranked in the top 100 “Regional Universities of the North” and in the top 25 for “Best Undergraduate Teaching.” Champlain is also featured in the Fiske Guide to Colleges for 2019 as one of the "best and most interesting schools" in the United States, Canada and Great Britain and is a 2019 College of Distinction. For more information, visit